Weight a Minute

I never struggled with my weight until I hit puberty. I was a very active child who hardly ever ate junk food… I’m a picky eater and to get me to eat anything before I was 11 was a feat in itself. However, I eventually learned the joys of binge eating Oreo’s and watching TV all day. I never got obese and hopefully never will but I did end up with a big butt and a not so flat belly. I’ve been gaining weight and losing it on and off for the past couple of years and I have decided that enough is enough. Since December I’ve been trying to eat healthier and work out more. With a few simple life changes I’ve noticed a difference in my body… Not a major difference but a difference none the less. Here is what I have been doing….

1. Drinking green tea once a day. 

Green tea not only boosts your metabolism but it decreases tumor growth, reduces risk of cardiovascular disease and diabetes, and even dental cavities! It is delicious and one of my favorite drinks! Along with drinking green tea I also try to drink at least 8 glasses of water a day. Pretty much all I drink is tea and water but I’ve noticed I don’t drink enough during the day.

2. Working out at least 3 times a week.

 I’m still trying to work myself up to going to my university’s rec center, but I try to do about at least a 15 minute workout 3 times a week and walk with my mom on the weekends. The workouts I do are simple and can be done at home without any equipment. I take the stairs as much as I can.Luckily, my campus has a lot of stairs and hills so I use those to my advantage. I’m still trying to work myself up to going to my university’s rec center. 

3. Eat vegetables and fruit at least once a day.

Like I mentioned before I’m a very picky eater and don’t really care for most vegetables and fruit. However, I try to eat fruit first thing when I wake up in the morning. I love watermelon, bananas, and apples. For lunch or dinner I will get a sub sandwich on a wheat bun with turkey, light mayo,american cheese and spinach (my favorite veggie). 

 

What do you do to stay healthy? Let me know in the comments below! Thanks! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

